The New Uniform (+Life Update)

16505634668_b937154bd2_o copy

16505786180_24769a54c4_o copy

16070914754_ba38c02ae8_o copy

16070940044_b11c670c91_o copy

Location-256 SYDNEY, NSW, AUSTRALIA

Do you ever find yourself having so much to say, but when you actually sit down to coax your mile per minute thoughts onto the page, words and sentences fail you? That is me way too often. As a matter of fact, right now. It’s been so long that I’ve posted on styliminal. – I know, it makes me really sad :( – that I have so much I want to say, to tell you guys. I’ve started my first year of university, turned 18, and so much more. But ever since I became a full time, five-day-a-week uni student at the beginning of last month, I really haven’t been able to focus my energies on anything else but uni and the inevitable study. You may have wondered if I was still alive – don’t worry, I still am – just buried under a ton of textbooks, readings, tutorial homework and revision.

Btw, just as a little disclaimer, I think this might be another one of my crazy long, rambly posts, so feel free to just enjoy the photos. Or if you’re feeling in the mood for a dose of D&M, you’re also most welcome to read on. Tea?

Moving on.

I was both excited yet a little reluctant and nervous to start uni. Reluctant because I felt like my four months of post-high school bliss had ended way too soon for my liking – I still had so many things I wanted to do, things to tick off my summer bucket list. Nervous because I just didn’t feel that ready. Yet, at the same time, I was excited by the prospect of embarking on this new phase of my life, finally studying something that I was passionate about, and also the many new people I’d cross paths with, and of course, the social events (hello clubs and societies).

The first two-and-a-bit weeks were quite overwhelming and stressful. I was trying my hardest to adjust, but at the same time, I was being bombarded with all this new information. I was also supposed to fit in readings, pre and post lecture work, revision, and tute homework. And being someone who likes being organised and control, I found it quite draining. I would come home after a 1.5 hour commute absolutely exhausted, too tired to do any work, and then I’d be behind, and completely lost in the next lecture etc. You get the picture. Not pretty at all. And in the midst of it all, I was starting to doubt whether it was really what I wanted to be studying. It was definitely a challenge. (Thank you to all my lovely friends who put up with me complaining aha).

Clearly, it hasn’t been all fun and games as others had made it out to be. During high school, and especially during Year 12, a social life was pretty much non-existent. “Uni is going to be different”, they said, “you’ll have so much more freedom, you’ll be able to go out, party, have a part time job”. I honestly don’t know how uni kids are able to fit in class, study, work, leisure and social events. Perhaps for those who don’t have 21 contact hours like I do, it’s possible.

I’ve been at uni for five weeks now, and I’m slowly finding my groove with everything, but I’m still not 100% there yet. I’m currently on my mid-sem break, which is definitely much needed. I get to take a little breather, catch up with my friends, and also sleep. Although I don’t know how much of a break it’s going to be, with it only being one week – I have so much study to catch up on, and also exams afterwards (gulp).

Hopefully I can get my life somewhat into order and figure out a somewhat manageable schedule, because the week back from the break is going to be a crazy one. It’ll be Mercedes Benz Fashion Week here in Sydney (finally), which means, as a part of the Miro Door editorial team, I’ll be at all the shows, recording all the backstage action, watching the shows, and of course churning out runway/trend reports for the site. (I can’t wait to share my MBFWA moments with you guys here on styliminal.) And that also means constantly running between classes and Carriageworks. I’ll finally get to do what Margaret Zhang does (haha). I don’t know how it’s going to go down. Hopefully I get to sleep. But one step at a time, yea?

Anyways, enough of that. Let’s talk about something a bit more fun shall we?

Back in high school, I remember loving the school’s gold-coin charity mufti days because I could actually wear something other than my potato sack of a uniform. For so long, I wished I went to an American school, so I wouldn’t have to wear a uniform. But now that I’m at uni, and I have to worry about what I’m going to wear every single day – I never thought I’d say this – but I wish I had a uniform I could just wear everyday. (The grass is always greener on the other side aye).

I guess this is where my pictured outfit comes in. Especially since I have a tendency to sleep in, it just makes life a lot easier when you can just throw on a foolproof combo like jeans and a tee. It’s just so much easier, it’s less fuss, and less time wasted standing in front of your closet every morning desperately trying to find something to wear. It’s hands down a classic. And may I also add, extremely versatile. There are literally thousands of permutations of the jeans/tee ensemble. You could dress it up with a blazer like I’ve done here, or keep it casual with a chunky knit cardigan. Comfy shoes are a must if you have to constantly rush from one side of campus to another. If at anytime you see me rushing up Eastern Avenue on my way to class, or holed up in Fisher/SciTech Library, I guarantee you that I’ll be wearing a variation of this outfit.

This really is my new uniform.

As for this post’s set of photos, I have my amazing friend Jenny to thank. I had a blast shooting with her, and this definitely won’t be the only time we’ll be shooting together! The girl works wonders with her Nikon. She has her own food blog, Jenny Chews, and I definitely recommend checking it out for mouthwatering food photos and great reviews on food spots around town.

I hope you enjoy the photos, and Happy Easter! <3

16691886771_05c6ac60dd_o copy

16667277026_c1c391502b_o copy

16485921117_6b7fddd809_o copy

love adela

PS- if anyone has any study/uni/life/anything advice, I’d love for you to pop it down in the comments below :)

17 comments on “The New Uniform (+Life Update)

  1. This outfit/uniform is perfect for uni! Stylish and comfy :) Hope uni gets better for you, although that break after HSC is the BEST!! haha but if there was one thing I wish I knew sooner is that marks don’t really matter (unless you’re doing finance or something), well they do, but everyone puts more emphasis on work experience and internships, hope that helps! :) xx

    http://www.tongue-in-chic.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Naeun! I know, but all things must come to an end, right? :P
      As for marks, that is so true… Although its hard to break out of that mindset especially after the HSC. I’ll definitely keep that in mind, and hopefully I won’t be as stressed haha.
      Love, Adela xx

      Like

  2. Lovely to shoot with you, Adela! :) I’m sure many of us can relate to the issues you’re having with uni – myself, as well! There’s a lot of sacrifice and prioritising going on, so hopefully you will get yourself sorted out soon. But don’t worry, you’re definitely not alone. My first year at uni was pretty intense and even now, I feel myself struggling at times because life is just going too fast! All part of the growing up process. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same to you Jenny! :)
      I’m starting to realise that now- and being me, I hate feeling so out of it and out of control :P and I realise that the importance of organising/prioritising more than ever, since there’s so much I wanna do! Thanks for the encouragement as always :)
      Love, Adela xx

      Like

    • Thanks so much Danika! Haha Sydney Uni definitely has that classic, old-fashioned, Harvard feel! Although I wish I was actually at Harvard :)
      Love, Adela xx

      Like

  3. Adela, these are such lovely pictures! And your outfit definitely exudes a feeling of effortlessness that’s still put-together. I’d say it’s a perfect University outfit.
    Starting out those first few weeks of college is tough, but I hope things settle in and you eventually find your pace.
    Good luck!

    Love, M.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for your lovely comment hun! It definitely puts a smile on my face, and is super encouraging for me to keep blogging despite being so busy with uni and other life commitments! :)
    Love, Adela xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

