Monochrome Again

17129104481_4cd84de0c8_o copy

16922361837_0a28045790_o copy

16941973648_e786668236_o copy

17129099971_e6130dc5b2_o copy

17129100901_06f005ae0f_o copy

 Location-256 SYDNEY, NSW, AUSTRALIA

Dear friends, I think I’ll always be apologising for my constant silences and lack of regular posting on styliminal. I honestly wished uni didn’t have to consume so much of my time and energy, but unfortunately, it’s the reality of being a full time student. So I guess for the time being, I’ll just to have to accept (very reluctantly, though) my irregular posting, and I hope you’ll bear with me too!

In other news, if you’ve been following me on Instagram, you’ll have seen the deluge of Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Australia snaps, and I’ll just say that it was an absolutely incredible experience, being able to attend as a Miro Door writer/contributor, and also for the first time. I don’t want to ramble on too much about it in this post, and I have a ton of photos I want to share with you guys from MBFWA – the only issue is finding the time to get them posted! Hopefully as soon as possible. Perhaps after all my mid-sem exams are done and dusted. (Two down, two more and an assignment to go).

Moving on.

If you’ve read my first ever outfit post, or seen my ootd’s on Instagram, you’ll know that I have an immense love for monochrome pairings. And so, I suppose it was inevitable that I was to showcase another permutation of this classic colour pairing. Another thing I’m very happy about? Monochrome is definitely on trend for the coming Spring Summer 15/16 season, (‘cos it never goes out of style haha), as seen in a multitude of designer collections that went down the runway at MBFWA.

As for this outfit, I love how it’s a little bit more dressy than usual, thanks to the white shirt, and the leather panelling on my pants, yet casual at the same time, thanks to the Converse, bohemian, Coachella-vibing statement necklace (oh how I wish I could go to Coachella… one day…), and the rolled up sleeves. It’s comfortable enough to wear on the weekends – for brunch, running errands, shopping, and also super versatile too. If I wanted to wear this to uni, I’d switch the oversized clutch for my usual uni tote/backpack and probably swap the statement necklace for something dainty. And for a night out with friends, I’d simply swap the Converse and rock a pair of heels instead. This outfit is also great in this funky transeasonal period, especially in Sydney, where it can be quite chilly in the morning and then boiling hot at noon. Simply throw on a chunky knit cardigan or a sweater on top (with the cute bonus of the collar peeking through), and a scarf, and you’re good to go – layer, layer, layer, repeat. That’s the secret to conquering this liminal space between summer and winter, friends. And I promise you you’ll be killin’ it ;)

Currently wishing the weather in Sydney wasn’t so erratic, and also that it wasn’t so cold and gloomy – I’ve already started pulling out my winter gear, and I have no idea how I’m going to survive when winter actually rolls around!

I hope you like the photos, and that your week is going well so far :)

17129098231_80c0599fb2_o copy

16509579423_a76ac6b2f4_o copy

16941951468_6e5823264b_o

17129093231_492e918d1c_o copy

love adela

Photography thanks to Jenny from Jenny Chews

28 comments on “Monochrome Again

    • Thanks so much Thays! :) Aw I’m glad this inspired you to pull out your leather pants! They’re such a great wardrobe staple, and add a little bit of extra sophistication to an outfit. Haha I know the feeling, its getting a bit too hot here in Sydney to wear them anymore :P

      Love, Adela xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I totally agree♡ have you ever tried a different color leather pants like red?:) I only have black ones but I wanted to try a different color. For you it’s becoming summer right? I went to Sydney whenever I was younger. It’s a really beautiful places!

        Liked by 1 person

      • No I haven’t, red leather pants are definitely such a statement piece, they would look so good! :) Same, I only have black too, and I guess whenever I’m shopping for pants, I always buy neutral colours without realising! Yep its Spring right now, Summer officially starts in December but the weather is already starting to get pretty hot! You should definitely visit again sometime :) I’ve never been to Florida or America in fact, it’s definitely on my list though! xx

        Like

      • The older I get the more I start to find my style. I had grown away from wearing patterned and colorful clothes and now wear a lot of grays,black, and warm colors :) I hope you have a lovely day and you should come visit Florida. We can go and take loads of outfit pictures ;)

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure that is the same for most people :) Yes! One of the reasons why I started my blog, (and the meaning behind it’s name) was to explore what my style is, and a space where I could experiment with diverse styles… but I’m definitely starting to see from my outfit posts so far that I have a major affinity for simple and classic monochrome looks! Yes I would absolutely love to come and visit Florida- sounds like a great idea hehe :) I hope you’ve had a lovely week so far! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s okay, exams are so much more important! I hope they went well! I have finals coming up in 2 weeks… Gotta start hitting the books :P Thanks so much, same to you lovely! xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

