Versatility | Maria Izvestkina

IMG_4958 copy

IMG_4972 copy

IMG_4969 copy

IMG_5030 copy

Location-256 SYDNEY, NSW, AUSTRALIA

If you’re familiar with the term capsule wardrobe, you’ll know that one of the core philosophies behind this minimalistic system is choosing highly versatile pieces that can be styled in a multitude of ways, which is in line with the less is more mantra. And, if you’re a regular reader of my little space here on the interwebs, you’ll also know that I’m always championing these kinds of items. To expand on this line of reasoning, these pieces spark joy, therefore you’ll inevitably reach for them constantly in the mornings.

Speaking of the concept of joy, I believe that when the things that, and the people who surround you, spark joy in your life, and constantly inspire you to improve, innovate and create, is when you are living a life full of happiness and contentment. Thus, I’ve come to realise that if and only when I am happy – my best self – am I inspired and able to produce my best work. And that, when I’m inspired, when new ideas just seem to flow, is when I’m at my happiest.

In an age where change is the only constant, and evolution inevitable, the need for fresh and unique perspectives in order to innovate, progress and stay relevant is paramount. And of course, inspiration is incredibly important to this creative process. From the people I see on the street, architecture and nature to the digital sphere (blogs, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr etc.), I find inspiration anywhere and everywhere.

Over time, I’ve also come to realise that I am quite a visual learner. Thus, when it comes to learning and above all, acquiring inspiration in my creative endeavours, I always appreciate being able to visualise in my mind or on paper new ideas and concepts. Therefore, I love things such as pictograms/collages/posts where the creator has offered her insights into the various ways she would style, for example, a LBD or suede skirt, as another’s insights can be invaluable to the formation of my own ideas.

To visually showcase how I would personally transition a certain piece from day to night, I decided that there was no better way to do so than to actually style and shoot the two looks. I’ve styled Maria’s oversized linen shirtdress into a casual, day look that is perfect for lazy summer days wandering local markets or brunch with friends. On a side note, when the soaring temperatures of Summer come, linen is THE perfect fabric to be wearing. Light and breathable, and therefore possessing a major comfort factor, it is the reason why I’ve recently added multiple linen pieces to my wardrobe. To avoid drowning my petite frame in the fabric, I’ve rolled up the sleeves and cinched the waist with a brown plaited belt, to create a feminine silhouette against the otherwise masculine, I-stole -this-from-my-boyfriend’s-closet kinda vibe.

For the night-time look, I opted for a gold statement necklace, and switched out the crossbody for a black clutch for a dressier vibe. To further elevate the ensemble, I laced on a pair of heels, which were made for dancing the night away.

As much as other blogs provide me with inspiration and influence my personal style – and as cheesy and cliché as this sounds – I hope that styliminal. can do that for even one person. I hope this inspires you to consider a piece in your closet in a new way, and to style it differently than you normally would.

Wishing you all a fabulous and inspired start to the week!

IMG_5216 copy

IMG_5170 copy

IMG_5253 copy

IMG_5256 copy

IMG_5263 copy

love adela

Photography by Maria Izvestkina

(Show her some love: Instagram & Facebook)

 

5 comments on “Versatility | Maria Izvestkina

Leave a Reply

